Fireworks Restrictions

Due to current and forecasted weather, extremely dry conditions, and heavy vegetation,
hazardous fire conditions exist. For these reasons Smithfield City has declared the
following areas to be restricted from fireworks.

e All areas North of Center Street and East of 200 East.
e All areas South of Center Street and East of 800 East.
e All City owned properties, parks, etc.

Any violation in the restricted areas could result in a Class “C” citation which is
punishable up to $750.00 fine and 90 days in jail.

Class “C” Fireworks can be sold June 25th through July 25th.

Class “C” Fireworks can be discharged in unrestricted areas and between the hours of
11am to 11pm on July 2nd, 3rd, 5th, 22nd, 23rd, and 25th . On July 4th and the 24th
they can be discharged from 11am to midnight.

Please contact the Smithfield Fire Department at 435-563-3056 for any questions or

concerns.
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2021 FIREWORKS
SALES AND DISCHARGE DATES

Sales

Class "C" fireworks can be sold the following dates:

June 24 - July 25
December 29 — December 31st
2 days before and on Chinese New Year's Eve

Discharge

Between the hours of 11am and 11pm except as noted.

July 2 - July 5
(July 4 hours extended to midnight)

July 22 - 25
(July 24 hours extended to midnight)

December 31
(11am - 1am Jan. 1)

Chinese New Year's Eve (February 11, 2021)
(11am — 1am the following day)

*if New Year's eve is on a Sunday and the county, municipality, or metro
township determines to celebrate New Year's eve on the prior Saturday
(Dec 3200, then a person may discharge Class C common state approved
explsives on that prior Saturday within the county, municipality, or metro
township;




FIREWORKS SAFETY

Promote & Practice the FOUR BEs

BE Prepared:

# Store fireworks out of children's reach.

* Always read and follow label directions.

* Place pets indoors; they are easily frightened by fireworks.
* Always have water handy (a garden hose or a bucket of water).

BE Responsible:
* Soak used fireworks thoroughly in a bucket of water.
* Dispose of used fireworks & debris properly.

* Never re-light “dud” fireworks. Wait 15-20 minutes then soak it
in a bucket of water.

BE Safe:

* An adult should always light fireworks.
* Keep matches & lighters away from children.

Use fireworks outdoors only.

Light only one firework at a time & move away quickly.

Keep children & pets away from fireworks.

* Always remember — do not throw fireworks or hold them in your hand.

* Use only legal fireworks.

* Use fireworks only in legal places.

* Fireworks are prohibited on all
state parks, and state or federal
forest lands.
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Fire Restriction Order

Due to current and forecasted weather conditions coupled with the record dry vegetation conditions
and extreme fire danger throughout Utah, the State Forester has determined that measures must be
taken to prevent the ignition of forest and rangeland fires. Therefore, pursuant to Utah State Law,
Section 63A-8-212, the following acts (also known as “Stage 1 Fire Restrictions) are prohibited in the
areas described below until rescinded by the Utah State Forester:

1. No open fires of any kind except within established facilities in improved campgrounds or
day-use areas on public lands. -OR- In permanently constructed fire pits at permanent
private dwellings served by pressurized running water.

2. Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle, trailer or building, a developed recreation site or

while stopped in an area that is paved or free from dry vegetation.

Cutting, welding or grinding metal in areas of dry vegetation.

4. Operating a motorcycle, chainsaw, ATV, or other small internal combustion engine without
an approved and working spark arrestor.

b

The following persons are exempted from the above prohibitions:

1. Persons with a permit or waiver issued by the Division, specifically authorizing a specified act
at a specific location. A waiver does not relieve the permittee of liability if a fire does occur.
2. Any on-duty firefighter in the performance of an official duty.

Area Description: All state lands ~AND- all unincorporated private lands within the state of Utah.
This order does not affect private lands within incorporated towns or city limits.

Any of the above acts is a violation of state law and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a fine
of up to $1,000. These restrictions will be enforced by county law enforcement.

Effective Date: 12:01 a.m., on the 10th day of June, 2021
Brett Oitler

Brett Ostler (Jun 9, 2021 14:19 MDT

Brett Ostler, State Fire Management Officer

Janvie Bames (Jun 3, 2021 14:23 MDT

Jamie Barnes, Interim Director

Gerry Gray, Acting State Forester
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